LibGuides: Distance Learning Resources: Resources for Middle School Staff

Tips for Coping and Advisory

AMLE: COVID-19 Remote Advisory Activities
Activities designed by middle level educators to help students continue to develop personally while they are out of the classroom.
AMLE: Remote Advisory During COVID-19
Activities designed by middle level educators to help students continue to develop personally while they are out of the classroom.
EdSurge: Prioritizing Human Connection When Social Distancing Is the New Norm
In a time requiring literal distance, how will we ensure continued interpersonal and emotional connection across our learning communities?
Greater Good Magazine
Includes "Our Guide to Well-Being," and "How to Help Teens Shelter in Place."
Road2College: Helping Your Students Deal with Unexpected Cancellations
Author Nadia Bolz-Weber described this time as a “pandemic of human disappointment,” and high school and college students are feeling the sting of these disappointments. Here are some ideas from around the country that you might be able to implement in your own town.
Things to Do During COVID from We Are Teachers
Builds on Wade Whitehead's ideas and activities. Originally pitched for elementary schools, may ideas are adaptable to middle and high school kids.

Social Emotional Learning Resources

Emory: Social, Emotional, and Ethical Learning
From the Center for Contemplative Science and Compassion-Based Ethics, a conceptual framework intended to support the development and implementation of programs and curricula that foster social, emotional and ethical learning in K-12 classes. Includes specifics about the core content and enduring capabilities that can be explored and taught in classrooms to facilitate social, emotional and ethical learning.
Institute for Social Emotional Learning: A new REALM: IFSEL’s Tips for Distance Learning
Rituals - Energize - Appreciation - Lighten - Mindful
SEL Resources for Parents, Educators & School Communities Related to COVID-19Inside SEL:
Our team at Inside SEL has put together an initial list of resources, blog posts and guides to help cope during this volatile and difficult time. Our intention is to continue to add to the list as we come across more relevant content. Updated at 10am ET weekdays

Examples of Other Schools' Distance Learning Plans

CNG Distance Learning Plan
Includes: Introduction to CNG’s Distance Learning Plan (DLP); Stakeholder Roles and Responsibilities During Distance Learning; Additional Guidelines for Teachers and Parents to Enhance DLP Effectiveness; Program Delivery Structure, Priorities, and Timeframes for Learning [K4, K5-2, Elementary, Middle and High]; Details Around CNG Distance Learning (March 2020) [including sample schedules]; Instructional Technology Support

Sacred Heart Schools Flexible Learning Plan for Instructional Continuity
Includes plans for different durations of absence from campus.

Multidisciplinary Resources

World Book
Password for access off-campus is in your school email.

Education Companies That Are Offering Free Subscriptions for Online Learning
List of almost 80 companies who always or more recently offer free distance learning services
Khan Academy
NBS Learn
Modules on many topics including Humanities and Social Sciences, Language Arts, STEM, and more.
NYTimes: Coronavirus Resources: Teaching, Learning and Thinking Critically
A page we will continue to update with ideas for working, at school or at home, with content from The Times and other reliable sources about this global pandemic.
PBS Learning
Excellent range of learning experiences by discipline and age group. Even some cool early childhood stuff.
Reach the World
Our programs use the web, messaging and video conferencing to connect youth with travelers in one-on-one global, virtual exchanges.
Scholastic Learn At Home
20 days' worth of exciting learning journeys for PreK and K, 1-2, 3-4, and 6+.
TED Ed Videos
Free Resource.
Each lesson comes with questions on the right side.
Common Sense Media: How to Find Great Learning Resources for Your Students During School Closures
From using video to project-based learning, get recommendations on the best tools for virtual learning.
Kahoot! offers free distance learning tools during the coronavirus outbreak
Edmentum: Free Resources to Continue Learning During School Closures
Downloadable worksheets, videos, games, webinar links, and tips.
ASCD: Why We Need Differentiation Now More Than Ever
The strain of tending to intensified personal needs and serving our school communities makes differentiating instruction likely the last thing on anyone's mind. However, it may be the single most important instructional move right now.

Math Resources

AMLE: Math Gallery Walk
Mindsets
"An instructional platform for authentic, real-world multi-step problem solving your math students will love."
Keystone Academy: Websites for Math
List of math sites covering Problem solving, Interactive Games, and Math Manipulatives.
Book Creator
Ebook creator which can be used collaboratively between students. Free for 90 days.

Reading Resources for Middle and Upper Schools

Favorite Authors & Illustrators Share Resources for Learning Anywhere
Many authors, including some very popular at Carolina Friends, share videos of read-alouds, mini-lessons on writing and drawing, and more.
Book Riot: Bookish Ways to to Keep Busy During a Quarantine
Five tips for staying engaged with books during a quarantine.
SYNC Audio (starts April 30)
SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. SYNC 2020 will use Sora, the student reading app from OverDrive. S
Book Creator
Ebook creator which can be used collaboratively between students. Free for 90 days.
Internet Archive: National Emergency Library
A collection of older books without a current ebook version. Intended to support emergency remote teaching, research, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Includes public domain books, books in languages other than English, adult, children's, and young adult books.
John Spencer Writing Prompts
High school teacher offers short videos that frame writing prompts.

Social Studies Resources

Teaching the Vietnam Era
NCSS: Teaching the Constitution Virtually
NCSS: Teaching and Learning with Online Historical Maps
NC Museum of History: Bits of History Podcast
From a look at early Spanish exploration of the mountains to an overview of the life and times of Jim Hunt to a deep dive into the development of the banjo, our Bits of History podcasts cover a wide range of subjects related to the North Carolina's history and culture.
National Archives: Middle School Distance Learning Programs
Visit the National Archives without leaving your classroom! Our free, interactive programs feature primary sources from our holdings.
SDG Academy: Environmental Security and Sustaining Peace (self-paced course)
This 8-week massive open online course on Environmental Security and Sustaining Peace provides an in-depth introduction to the multiple roles that natural resources and the environment play in the onset, escalation, resolution, and recovery from violent conflicts.
This course is self-paced – you can enroll immediately and complete the course materials at any time before September 15, 2020.
Book Creator
Ebook creator which can be used collaboratively between students. Free for 90 days.

Music and Theater Resources (Performing Arts)

KCRW: Zocolo Public Square
March 19 at 7:30 p.m (PST).
A livestream called "How Does Music Change Your Brain" [Check if recorded option is available!]
Playbill: 15 Broadway Plays and Musicals You Can Watch On Stage From Home
Let’s take a look at some of the best filmed Broadway shows to know about and where to find them.
American Choral Directors: Resources for Choral Professionals During the Pandemic
We are seeing the creativity, ingenuity, and leadership of choral professionals as they create and share resources to help themselves and others respond proactively! This page is an attempt to collect many of these ideas and suggestions together.

PE and Get Moving Resources

Common Sense Media: Movement Apps, Games, and Websites
Apps, websites, and video games that inspire running, jumping, and more to stay active.
Common Sense Media: Dance Games
You can groove alone or with others and plan dance-offs or massive dance parties. Exercise has never been this much fun!
UNICEF Kid Power
UNICEF Kid Power features free, interactive videos that give students the power to save lives globally and give back locally

Tools for Assessments

Ed Puzzle: Videos with built in assessments
Does this require a subscription?
NWEA: 75 Digital Tools and Apps Teachers Can Use to Support Formative Assessment in the Classroom
"We’ve compiled an extensive list of 75 digital tools, apps, and platforms that can help teachers and students use formative assessment to elicit evidence of student learning."
Ideas for Student Accountability During Zoom Sessions
As we embark on this journey of zoom classroom spaces, a lot of us are wondering how to ensure that students are attending to our shared class time. Below are some recommendations based on feedback from our Chinese colleagues in Zhuhai, recommended practices from distance learning resources, and ideas teachers have shared.
Kahoot! offers free distance learning tools during the coronavirus outbreak
Quizlet
From flashcards to help you learn francais, to games that make it easy to get a handle on history, use a variety of tools to conquer any challenge.
Socrative
For summative assessments, quick check-ins, and exit tickets.
Edutopia: 11 Tips for Excellent Digital Portfolios
Guiding your students to get the most out of digital portfolios takes careful planning, and we have ideas to help you get started.
Global Online Academy: Six Ways to Move Beyond the Classwork/Homework Divide (and Never Look Back)

Visual Arts Resources

Google Arts and Culture
Collections of visual artworks. New material added every day. Free.
Book Creator
Ebook creator which can be used collaboratively between students. Free for 90 days.
OrigamiPlayer.com
Animated instructions for folding origami art. You may need to allow Adobe Flash to run.

Distance Learning Resources

Tips for Coping and Advisory

Social Emotional Learning Resources

Examples of Other Schools' Distance Learning Plans

Multidisciplinary Resources

Math Resources

Reading Resources for Middle and Upper Schools

Social Studies Resources

Music and Theater Resources (Performing Arts)

PE and Get Moving Resources

Tools for Assessments

Visual Arts Resources

Virtual Field Trips